Lucy, The Margate Elephant
Designed by William Free, a Philadelphia architect, Lucy was
built in 1881 at a cost of $38,000. Despite extensive structural stabilization
and exterior restoration carried out in the 1970s, work on this National
Historic Landmark is not yet complete. With three grants from the New Jersey
Trust's Historic Preservation Bond Program, plans are finally underway
to restore Lucy's Victorian interior.
Continue with Lucy Showcase
Page for more details
James Vincent de Paul Lafferty, Jr. financed Lucy and two other elephant
structures. One of these, known as the Light of Asia, was constructed
in South Cape May, New Jersey, in 1884 but was never maintained; it was
torn down c. 1900. The other was built at Coney Island, New York, also
in 1884. This 122-foot-tall structure, appropriately named Elephantine
Colossus, had 31 rooms; it was destroyed by fire in 1896. Lucy is the
Reconstruction of the Lightkeeper's House
at the Absecon Lighthouse Historic Site
In 1855-7, the Absecon Lighhouse, along with a Lightkeeper's
and Assistant Lightkeeper's House, was built in the northern inlet area
of Atlantic City. Designed by future Civil War General (then Lt.) George
G. C. Meade, Absecon Lighhouse stands 167 feet to the lens, with 228 steps
in the main stair and 12 more to the light platform.
Continue with Lightkeeper's
House Showcase Page for more details
In 1993, a local organization adopted the lighthouse through a long-term
lease with the state.
Westfield Architects & Preservation Consultants was retained in
May 1996 for the reconstruction of the Lightkeeper's House.
It is projected that over 70,000 visitors annually will take advantage
of a unique vantage that the top of the lighthouse will provide of Atlantic
City. Along with other historic, cultural, and educational facilities,
the Absecon Lighthouse Historic Site will remain a beacon for the Inlet
Section of Atlantic City.